Brain and Neuroscience Advances

Brain and Neuroscience Advances is the scientific journal published by SAGE and owned by the BNA.

Brain and Neuroscience Advances


Aims and scope

The mission of Brain and Neuroscience Advances is to promote, on a multidisciplinary basis, the study of the development, structure and function of the neurosciences in health and disease. 

Brain and Neuroscience Advances publishes original research papers and reviews from all fields and disciplines of neuroscience, including molecular, cellular, systems, behavioural, and cognitive investigations. 

The journal welcomes submissions in basic, translational and/or clinical neuroscience.  Research papers should present novel, empirical results that are expected to be of interest to a broad spectrum of neuroscientists working in the laboratory, field or clinic. 

Why publish with Brain and Neuroscience Advances?

  • Broad scope, multidisciplinary journal
  • High profile, expert international editorial board and high quality peer review
  • International gold open access journal with no barriers to access
  • Time from submission to decision of 20 days*, time from acceptance to publication of 20 days*
  • Introductory 50% discount on the article processing charge, and no page charges

*Working days


  1. Editor-in-Chief
  2. Senior Editors
  3. Editorial Board


Jeffrey W. Dalley is a Professor of Behavioural Neuroscience in the Departments of Psychology and Psychiatry at the University of Cambridge. He is also a Professorial Fellow and Director of Studies in Neuroscience and Psychology at St Catharine’s College in Cambridge, and an executive member of the Cambridge MRC/Wellcome Trust Behavioural and Clinical Neuroscience Institute (BCNI).

Jeff is an alumnus of Otago University, New Zealand (Pharmacy: 1983-1986) and University College London (Ph.D: 1989-1992) with research interests spanning behavioural neuroscience, psychopharmacology, brain imaging, and neural vulnerability mechanisms in addiction. 

Back to top

Senior Editors

Professor David Bannerman, University of Oxford, UK

Professor Rebecca Elliot, University of Manchester, UK

Professor Sarah Guthrie, Sussex University, UK

Professor Paul Phillips, University of Washington, US

Professor Clifton Ragsdale, Chicago University, USA 

Professor Narender Ramnani, Royal Holloway University of London, UK

Professor Linda J. Richards, The University of Queensland, Australia 

Dr Peter Rudebeck, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, US

Professor Clea Warburton, University of Bristol, UK

Back to top

Editorial Board

Back to top