Our governance

The British Neuroscience Association is governed by members of the Association who have taken on roles in the Council and Committee, referring to the governing documents to guide them in their decisions in running the organisation. The Council and Commitee are supported by the BNA Executive staff. 

Contents

  1. BNA Council
  2. BNA Committee
  3. BNA Executive
  4. Governing documents

BNA Council

The Council is the main governing body of the BNA and includes the Trustees/Directors of the Association.

Council members meet at least six times per year.  They are charged with defining and managing the strategic plan, setting policy and making operational decisions on behalf of the membership.

Current members of the BNA Council

aggleton John Aggleton - President 2015-2017
Trustee
Cardiff University
Aggleton@cardiff.ac.uk
lightman Stafford Lightman - President-Elect 2015-2017
Trustee
University of Bristol
stafford.lightman@bristol.ac.uk
Foster Russell Foster - Immediate Past President 2015-2017
Trustee
University of Oxford
russell.foster@eye.ox.ac.uk
Toescu Emil Toescu - Honorary Secretary 2015-2019
Trustee
University of Birmingham
E.C.TOESCU@bham.ac.uk
Sik Attila Sik - Honorary Treasurer 2015-2019
Trustee
University of Birmingham
attila.sik@bna.org.uk 
Lovick Thelma Lovick - Meetings Secretary 2015-2019
University of Bristol
Thelma.Lovick@bristol.ac.uk
Langston Ros Langston - Local Groups Co-ordinator 2015-2019
University of Dundee
r.f.langston@dundee.ac.uk
Ramnani Narender Ramnani PhD - Co-opted member of Council 2015-2017
Royal Holloway, University of London
n.ramnani@rhul.ac.uk
Tracey Irene Tracey - Member of Council 2012-2016
University of Oxford
irene.tracey@ndcn.ox.ac.uk
Cox Kevin Cox - Non-Executive Director 2014-2017
Trustee
Imanova, an innovative joint venture with the MRC, ICL, UCL and KCL.
Berners Manfred Berners - Non-Executive Director 2014-2017
Trustee
Berners-Chapman, strategic consultancy for life science companies
Palmer Alan Palmer - Non-Executive Director 2014-2017
Trustee
Neuroscientst and entrepreneur (positions at UCL, University of Reading, University of Bristol; Cerebroscience Ltd, MS Therapeutics Ltd, Brain-e-games, One Nucleus Ltd; and Cerestim Ltd)

 

Back to top

BNA Committee

The BNA Council is advised and supported national committee members who, between them, have research interests spanning the breadth and depth of neuroscience and are affiliated with academic institutes and industrial centres across the UK.  Appointment to a Committee post is for four years (co-opted members serve for two years).  Council members also sit on the National Committee.

Committee meetings to discuss topics of concern and interest to the membership are usually held three times each year, or as often as needed. Applications for BNA funding of local neuroscience events are reviewed at these meetings..

Any member is welcome to raise an item for Committee meeting discussion. To do so, please contact the BNA Office at office@bna.org.uk, or one of the Committee members listed below.

Current members of the BNA Committee

Peter Brophy - Professional Society Liaison 2013-2017
University of Edinburgh
peter.brophy@ed.ac.uk
Anthony Isles - Publications Secretary 2015 - 2019
Cardiff University
IslesAR1@cardiff.ac.uk
Mark Ungless - Education & Engagement Secretary 2015 - 2019
Imperial College London
mark.ungless@imperial.ac.uk
Gary Gilmour - Corporate Representative co-opted; 2013-2017
Eli Lilly & Co (Lilly UK), Windlesham
gilmour_gary@lilly.com
John Jefferys - Membership Secretary 2015-2019
University of Oxford
john.jefferys@pharm.ox.ac.uk
Joanne Bailey - Students & Early Careers Representative 2015-2019
University of Southampton
Jo.bailey@soton.ac.uk
Deborah Castle - Equal Opportunities & Diversity Representative 2015-2019
Retired
deborahcastle1@btinternet.com

 

Back to top

BNA Executive

cooke Anne Cooke - Chief Executive
anne.cooke@bna.org.uk

Louise Tratt - Executive Officer
office@bna.org.uk

 

Back to top

Governing documents

The BNA's governing documents form the Association's constitution, define its charitable objects, the kind of activiites to be undertaken, the appointments and responsibilities of the Trustees, Council and Committee members, and the means by which the organisation is run.  The Memorandum, Articles and Rules of the BNA were last reviewed in April 2016 and can be downloaded in full here:

If you have any questions about BNA governance please contact the Association Secretary

Back to top