Local groups

For the BNA to properly represent national neuroscience, we have established a network of BNA Local Groups at universities and institutes engaged in neuroscience research across the UK.

Local groups

The Local Group network acts as a two-way conduit for information between members and the BNA Council and Committee.  All Local Groups are headed by a Local Group Representative (LGR) which are in turn headed by the BNA LGR Co-ordinator.  Since the LGR Co-ordinator is a permanent member of the BNA Council, the views and activities of all members are always represented at the highest level of the organisation; and information from and decisions made at Council meetings are immediately disseminated to the membership.

LGRs provide a point of contact for a number of member benefits within BNA.  For example, any applications for Local Group funding are made throught the LGRs.

Ros LangstonTo find out more about the BNA Local Group Representative network, applying for LG funding, nominating a neuroscientist for a BNA Award, and advertising your neuroscience news to the BNA community, contact your Local Group Representative. All LGRs' contact details and links to relevant websites can be found below.

If your Institution is not currently represented by a BNA Local Group and you would like to set one up, then please contact the BNA LGR Co-ordinator, Dr Rosamund Langston (pictured right) at r.f.langston@dundee.ac.uk.

BNA Local Groups

  Local Group   Contact Name Contact Email
  Aberdeen   Gernot Riedel g.riedel@abdn.ac.uk
  Aston   Rheinallt Parri parrihr@aston.ac.uk
  Bangor   Richard Ramsey r.ramsey@bangor.ac.uk
  Bath   Roland Jones R.S.G.Jones@bath.ac.uk
  Birmingham   Emil Toescu e.c.toescu@bham.ac.uk
  Bristol   Kevin Kemp Kevin.Kemp@bristol.ac.uk
  Brunel   Taeko N. Wydell Taeko.Wydell@brunel.ac.uk
  Cambridge   Dervila Glynn dg248@cam.ac.uk
  Cardiff/Wales   Currently vacant Currently vacant
  Dublin/Ireland   Derek Costello derek.costello@ucd.ie
  Dundee   Rosamund Langston r.f.langston@dundee.ac.uk
  Durham   Paul L Chazot paul.chazot@durham.ac.uk
  Edinburgh   Jane Haley Jane.Haley@ed.ac.uk
  Exeter/Plymouth   Crawford Winlove C.I.P.Winlove@pcmd.ac.uk
  Glasgow   Leanne C. McKay leanne.mckay@glasgow.ac.uk
  Imperial College London   Andriy Kozlov a.kozlov@imperial.ac.uk
  KCL/IOP   Amber Collingwood amber.collingwood@kcl.ac.uk
  Keele   Current vacant TBC
  Leeds   Samit Chakrabarty s.chakrabarty@leeds.ac.uk
  Leicester   Volko Straub vs64@le.ac.uk
  Liverpool   Yvonne Allen Y.Allen@liverpool.ac.uk
  Manchester   John Gigg j.gigg@manchester.ac.uk
  Newcastle   Mark Cunningham mark.cunningham@ncl.ac.uk
  Nottingham   Carl Stevenson Carl.Stevenson@nottingham.ac.uk
  Open University/Cranfield   Duncan Banks duncan.banks@open.ac.uk
  Oxford   Nick Irving nicholas.irving@ndcn.ox.ac.uk
  Reading   Angela Bithell a.bithell@reading.ac.uk
  Royal Holloway, University of London   Tibor Auer tibor.auer@rhul.ac.uk
  Sheffield   Chris Martin c.martin@sheffield.ac.uk
  Southampton   Katrin Deinhardt k.deinhardt@soton.ac.uk
  St. Andrews   Gareth Miles gbm4@st-andrews.ac.uk
  Strathclyde   Trevor Bushell trevor.bushell@strath.ac.uk
  Sussex   Sarah King s.l.king@sussex.ac.uk
  Swansea   Seo-Kyung Chung S.Chung@swansea.ac.uk
  UCL   Matt Wakelin m.wakelin@ucl.ac.uk
  UCLAN   Colin Davidson cdavidson2@uclan.ac.uk
  Warwick   Yuriy Pankratov Y.Pankratov@warwick.ac.uk