Local groups

For the BNA to properly represent national neuroscience, we have established a network of BNA Local Groups at universities and institutes engaged in neuroscience research across the UK.

Local groups

The Local Group network, which covers the UK (see map), acts as a two-way conduit for information between members and the BNA Council and Committee.

All Local Groups are headed by a Local Group Representative (LGR) which are in turn headed by the BNA LGR Co-ordinator.  Since the LGR Co-ordinator is a permanent member of the BNA Council, the views and activities of all members are always represented at the highest level of the organisation; and information from and decisions made at Council meetings are immediately disseminated to the members.

LGRs provide a point of contact for a number of member benefits within BNA.  For example, any applications for Local Group funding are made throught the LGRs.

Ros LangstonTo find out more about the BNA Local Group Representative network, applying for LG funding, nominating a neuroscientist for a BNA Award, and advertising your neuroscience news to the BNA community, contact your Local Group Representative. All LGRs' contact details and links to relevant websites can be found below.

If your Institution is not currently represented by a BNA Local Group and you would like to set one up, then please contact the BNA LGR Co-ordinator, Dr Rosamund Langston (pictured right) at r.f.langston@dundee.ac.uk.

BNA Local Groups

 Local Group  Contact Name Contact Email
 Aberdeen Gernot Riedel g.riedel@abdn.ac.uk
 Aston Rheinallt Parri parrihr@aston.ac.uk
 Bangor Richard Ramsey r.ramsey@bangor.ac.uk
 Bath Currently vacant Email office@bna.org.uk for details
 Birmingham Daniel Fulton/  Hannah Botfield D.Fulton@bham.ac.ukH.Botfield@bham.ac.uk
 Bristol Kevin Kemp Kevin.Kemp@bristol.ac.uk
 Brunel Taeko N. Wydell Taeko.Wydell@brunel.ac.uk
 Cambridge Dervila Glynn dg248@cam.ac.uk
 Cardiff Matthew Bosworth/ Francesca Keefe  BosworthML@cardiff.ac.uk / KeefeF@cardiff.ac.uk
 De Montfort University Benjamin Gronier BGronier@dmu.ac.uk
 Dublin/Ireland Derek Costello derek.costello@ucd.ie
 Dundee Rosamund Langston r.f.langston@dundee.ac.uk
 Durham Paul L Chazot paul.chazot@durham.ac.uk
 Edinburgh Jane Haley Jane.Haley@ed.ac.uk
 Glasgow Leanne C. McKay leanne.mckay@glasgow.ac.uk
Imperial College London Andrei Kozlov a.kozlov@imperial.ac.uk
 KCL/IOP Matthew Kempton matthew.kempton@kcl.ac.uk
 Keele Currently vacant Email office@bna.org.uk for details
 Leeds Currently vacant Email office@bna.org.uk for details
 Leicester Volko Straub vs64@le.ac.uk
 Liverpool Susannah Walker s.c.walker@ljmu.ac.uk
 Manchester John Gigg j.gigg@manchester.ac.uk
 Newcastle Ilona Obara Ilona.Obara@newcastle.ac.uk
 Nottingham Carl Stevenson Carl.Stevenson@nottingham.ac.uk
 Open University/Cranfield Duncan Banks duncan.banks@open.ac.uk
 Oxford Nick Irving nicholas.irving@ndcn.ox.ac.uk
 Plymouth/Exeter Crawford Winlove C.I.P.Winlove@pcmd.ac.uk
 Queen Mary University of London Joanna Riddoch-Contreras  j.riddoch-contreras@qmul.ac.uk
 Reading Angela Bithell a.bithell@reading.ac.uk
 Royal Holloway, University of London Tibor Auer tibor.auer@rhul.ac.uk
 Sheffield Chris Martin c.martin@sheffield.ac.uk
 Southampton Katrin Deinhardt k.deinhardt@soton.ac.uk
 St. Andrews James Ainge jaa7@st-andrews.ac.uk
 Strathclyde Trevor Bushell trevor.bushell@strath.ac.uk
 Sussex Sarah King / Ruth Staras s.l.king@sussex.ac.uk / r.staras@sussex.ac.uk
 Swansea Seo-Kyung Chung S.Chung@swansea.ac.uk
 UCL Martin Smith t.martin.smith@ucl.ac.uk
 UCLAN Vassilios Beglopoulos VBeglopoulos@uclan.ac.uk
 Warwick Currently vacant Email office@bna.org.uk for details
 Westminster Joan Liu  J.Liu@westminster.ac.uk

Top